Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 25th, 2007

Comments

Please feel free to use the comments section at the bottom of each blog post.  I would like this whole thing to be somewhat interactive.  52 visits since I launched this yesterday.  I call that a pretty good start.  Hopefully there will be enough interest to keep this going for a long time.  I’ll try to come up with something new to post here often.  Thanks!

Read Full Post »

Good news. I have received permission to use some incredible photos on this blog. Quillgordon as he is known on Upland Journal and The Utah Division of Wildlife forum takes some of the most amazing photos I have ever seen. He is an avid outdoorsman, upland hunter, and fly fisherman. His bird dog Oak is as nice as they come. Going forward, I’ll share some of his pictures from time to time.

Here’s some of what we have to look forward to.

P1120979II-1

P1010189II

P1110366II

Read Full Post »

I think from time to time, I’ll go find a Jimmy Buffett clip from Youtube to post here on this blog.  Just for fun.  Youtube video quality is never that great but I still enjoy alot of stuff I find there.

Here is Far Side of the World. 

Read Full Post »

Tread Lightly

Let’s talk about NAXJA. What is it? The National XJ Association. What is an XJ? That’s jeep speak for a Cherokee. On the local level we have the Intermountain Chapter. Basically it is a bunch of Cherokee owners who are family friendly and like to get out to test the limits of their vehicles. We support responsible 4 wheel drive land use and we have a great time together on the trails.

There is a popular spot for 4 wheel drive trails here in Utah called American Fork Canyon. A couple of weeks ago some dumbass decided to leave the trail and caused some severe damage. This kind of thing looks bad on all 4 Wheel Drive enthusiasts. The Forest Service reached out to several local 4 Wheel Drive groups in a call for help.

Last weekend there was a project to repair the damage. It was good to see the support of the 4 Wheel Drive Community coming together to fix the damage. I  ended up tending to other obligations.   Several members of our Intermountain Chapter did go and reported good success in repairing the damage. 36 Volunteers showed up to help.

Now the good part about this whole ordeal. The Forest Service made the kid who caused the damage show up to help. I hope he felt like the inconsiderate bastard that he is. I also hope that the folks who showed up to help got to tell him what they thought of his actions. And most importantly I hope that he learned a lesson from this.  Thanks to those who were able to help!

Read Full Post »