Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 31st, 2007

This should get you in the mood for the upcoming season.

Read Full Post »

http://www.pointinggundogs.com/ 

Just looking around on Google and I stumbled on to a great blog.  This guy looks to have some good knowledge and shares similar interests with me.  He appears to be a fellow Utahn, but I haven’t been able to find a name yet.  Lots of interesting reading and pictures. 

Read Full Post »

This is a link to the a starter sized loft.  I see this one recommended quite often by Pigeon fanciers. 

http://www.redroselofts.com/starter_loft.htm

I consider this loft a bit overboard for someone wanting to keep a few birds around for training dogs.  But it is quite nice for someone looking to race pigeons or keep pigeons as a hobby it is a very nice loft.

 Here is one of the best ideas I have heard for a low priced loft to keep a few bird in.  Check with shipping companies to see if they have any large wood crates.  You can often find them very cheap.   Similar to these.

 Obviously they come is various shapes and sizes.  Lots of possibilities to customize a small loft.  Last time I called a place they had several for $35.00.  I didn’t end up going that route, but costwise I should have. 

 If you are not feeling too creative Lion Country Supply has some plans for a small loft which you can buy for $5.95  Loft Plans   

Read Full Post »

Here are a couple of links to articles.  I read these a couple of years ago.  This was my first intro to the idea.  Provides a good explanation and some ideas.

http://www.uplandbirddog.com/training/pigeon.html

http://www.uplandbirddog.com/training/loft.html

Read Full Post »

When a friend of mine heard I had built a new loft, he offered to hatch some pigeons for me.   I went to pick up the first two last night.  He has some very nice birds.  I wish I had taken my camera along to snap some photos of his loft.  Really nice setup.  His Grandfather kept racing pigeons since WWII.  When it was found that his Grandfather didn’t have much time left, my friend was invited over to pick out some birds for his own loft.  He took all of the interesting colored birds.  Reds, Pieds, Grizzles, Whites, I have never seen such a great assortment of colors.  These ones he hatched for me look like twins and are kind of a taupe color.  Really nice birds.

These birds will join my fliers soon and it will be nice to have a couple of extra birds for dog training.  I’ll try and get a picture of the new loft residents tonight.

Read Full Post »